Hello family!

You responded miraculously to my desperate email. (Alex let us know that she was writing earlier today and wanted to make sure we had all written her) Derek and Scott you both sent me pictures of your breakfast. Thank you for that. I hope everyone is doing super well! JACK HAPPY BIRTHDAY! YOU ARE 3!!! I cannot believe he is three years old. It seems like just yesterday I saw him be born. I hope he had a great birthday.

So as for my week. This week is “Carnival” in South America. An interesting holiday! Seriously all it is is just a big water fight. I asked my companion what they celebrated in Carnival (because I figured it had to be something) and she was getting so frustrated trying to explain that “It’s just like New Years except instead of fireworks its Carnival with water”. But anyways I am still not sure what Carnival is. (Ecuadorians celebrate the week before Lent by throwing water, flour, oil, eggs at each other. They especially like to target foreigners. It lasts for a few days.)

So we were in the house Friday and Saturday and only went to church on Sunday. Walking home from church everyone dumped water on me, so I guess for good reason we aren’t allowed to go outside. Happy Carnival!

BUT the big news this week was that I received my pin! I don’t know if I have told you guys about the buttons. But after you have finished you 12 semanas, when there is a capacitacion (like a training meeting) Presidente makes you get up in front of like 100 people and he asks you a question (baptism invitation, L1, L2, L3, etc) and you have to teach him in front of anyone. If you do it well, you get your pin which signifies that you can  train other missionaries and you are like a real missionary. haha. Anyways I was nervous. But I got up there and he said “Hermanita, esta lista?” I said “Si, presidente” and then he asked me to teach Lesson 3 (The gospel of Jesus Christ). Anyways, all was well and I taught it and I GOT MY PIN! My madre (Hermana Nuñez), and my madrastra (Hermana Peralta) put my pin on and it was great. Everyone cheered and it was lovely. One Elder, from Argentina, got asked by presidente to give Leccion 1 in English! He didn’t speak at all but it was really sweet.

So that was pretty much my week. Studying for the capacitacion and then being in casa. Fun fun fun. Oh but let me tell you about one lession we had. So we are teaching this one lady, (E). She has had a rough past with selling drugs and being in jail and just tons of stuff. But she really wants to change. Anyways, on Thursday, I believe, we went to her house and she was like “I don’t think I can continue on, I really am not worthy”. We asked her why she felt that way and she wouldn’t tell us. But we explain repentance and how we all make mistakes but through the Atonement we can all feel clean and peaceful again. She was like crying and the spirit was super strong and then she asked us “Can a person that is working in prostitution be baptized?”. Anyways somehow 3 of the people that we are working with are working as prostitutes. These women have such hard lives trying to survive and provide for their children. It is really sad. But I do feel like I am learning a lot about the Atonement as I teach these people.

So that was my week. I hope that everyone is good! Are you all reading the Book of Mormon? Every day? Do it! Are you all praying? Are you repenting? Do ittttt. You will be happier, I swear.

I love you guys.

Hermana Brimley

