HELLO MY FAMILY

HOW ARE YOU?

FORGIVE ME FOR LAST WEEK!

Yeah, so I am very sorry for not writing last week but as I have told you before, transfers here are crazy. Normally we print our letter in the morning, then go shop and do all that P-day stuff, and at 4:00 we write, but last week we got a call at 1:30pm saying my companion needed to be in Santa Rosa (an hour away) at 2:45pm (leaving her 15 minutes to get all her stuff together) and then from there, I had to go to Guayaquil (5 hours away) to collect my new companion, and we didn’t get home until Tuesday. So I am super sorry. If it helps, it was kind of a horrible P-day for me as well. And guess what? My new companion? Hermana Perez (we were in a trio together already)! She is from Colombia and she is really helping me develop my Christ-like attribute of patience.

DSCN1135[1]

 

But how are you guys? OH MY GOODNESS LORIN WELCOME HOME. Man I cannot believe you are home. AND JANIE GOING TO POLAND That is going to be nuts, but really cool.  Congratulations you will be awesome. It is kind of sad that you are leaving but no worries– see you in October of 2017 the B’s will be back together again. Lol.

So this week has been good and hard and I am being forced to learn a lot! Which is good. Because my companion is really not wanting to like talk that much so I am just teaching and inviting and leading and doing every thing. And I am so tired. But it is good because I feel like my Spanish has gotten so so so so much better this week. Like weirdly so. I am not really sure what happened. Anyways, we found a lady who is like 20 years old and has 2 kids and her spouse only comes to her teeny tiny apartment like once a week and comes only to beat her— it is so sad.  We are trying to help her. ALSO we have had this super firm investigator, Carmen, who goes to church every week and reads the Book of Mormon constantly. She wants to be baptized, but can’t because she lives under the same roof as her ex-husband. This week she told me that she wants to move out of her house and so we are (with the help of the rama) looking for a house for her! And the moment she moves out, she can get baptized! I am just so so so happy for that. I really just want to be here for her baptism.

Other things…this week I have been trying to mend relationships with different families in the rama. Some missionaries who served in my area have clashed with lots of ward members, to the point that people started resenting us. (It kind of blew). But man what a successful week. We don’t have any more enemies in the ward and I cannot even tell you what a win that is.

Let me quickly tell you about my companion. She is not easy.  She is emotionally needy and gets mad at me if I’m not hugging her or showing affection or babying her. She quits talking to me. The nurse called me last night and said, Hermana Brimley you need to be strong. You are going to grow so much in this transfer, but if there is anything I can do to help you, just tell me. I am here for you 24/7. So that is a comfort. Shooot.

As for questions: I have not gotten my package yet. But I did get two letters. THANK YOU AUNT JUDY and UNCLE JAMIE!! Seriously that money saved my booty this week because I had nothing. It is hard to get to an ATM and one that works. As for my birthday…. oh chuzo I don’t know. Money? That way I can buy things here for you guys? Ah man I don’t know! Maybe a new skirt? And yes, I imagine I will get transferred soon. I have a lot of time here…almost four months. BUT I LOVE PASAJE AND I DONT WANT TO LEAVE. So pray for that.

Alrighty. Was this long enough for you people? You guys are never satisfied with how long my letters are. Really my life right now is fighting the sun and the mosquitos (don’t worry I still bathe in repellant every 3 hours). Oh and the rain in the streets up to my knees. But it is all good. I still love Ecuador and I am very blessed and I love the gospel and I LOVE YOU GUYS!

Hermana Brimley

